Press "Enter" to skip to content

Why should I remain being Kosher for cheese

So I have been kosher all my life, and as I grew older I started to question myself and investigate regarding kashrut. This was mainly because the lack of quality products that has a kosher certificate. So my desire to eat good, and frustration, ignited a chain reaction of questions.

Regarding cheese. We or at least I, was always told that the reason we can’t eat non-kosher cheese is because the presence of animal rennet to produce it. But my findings are that it’s not. I first thought that I could check the ingredients and if the rennet was from non animal source (99% of the cheese in supermarkets) that would be fine for me to eat it. But then as I kept studying I realized that It’s not a kashrut problem but a “Takanah” imposed by the old sages. So no matter what is the source of the rennet (animal , microbial, vegetarian) you cannot eat cheese if it’s not under supervision.

I will state some of the sources that I have:

Mishnah Avoda Zara 2:5 “for what reason did the sages prohibited the cheese of the gentiles”…. Long story short after a back and forth debate the rabbi who was asked this question (Rabbi Yehoshua) changed the subject, the reason he did that is because when the Sanhedrin imposed a new rule, they wouldn’t tell the reason for the first year in order to the people not make any trouble, after one year that everyone adopted the new rule then they gave the reason.

As for the cheese it seems that there was never a good understanding of that.

Rabenutam has an opinion that the problem was “Nikur” (the venom of the serpents) the gentiles could be neglect with their milk, and Jews could get poisoned, he thinks that the sages made the takanah for that reason and when Nikur is no longer a problem in the cities, then the Takanah wouldn’t apply. (My understanding is that this opinion is bowed out because if the milk has venom, then it won’t curdle, therefore not cheese could be make with it)

Rambam says that the 4rd stomach of the calf which rennet is extracted from is not considered meat, but a subproduct compared to the feces, therefore is not Taref. In fact you could buy the stomach from the gentiles (non kosher animal) and use it to make your cheese and would be kosher, even if you supervise the gentiles putting the rennet it would be kosher. Also he clarifies that it is not a meat and dairy problem.

The Schach has a more strict opinion, he says that a Jewish person has to put the rennet into the milk for it to be kosher, so supervising is not enough.

My Conclusion: the only difference between a kosher cheese and a no kosher cheese is that kosher cheese went through supervision of a Jewish person or was made by one. So you could have the same ingredients than a gentile, if he makes the cheese is not kosher, if I do, it then it is. Even If I watch him make it, its also is kosher and even if he uses animal rennet.

I understand there could be other problems like machinery, etc. but join me on this ride of kosher cheese and let’s focus only on what makes a cheese kosher.

So a lot of myths we broke down: animal rennet is not kosher, the problem is meat and dairy (rambam states that it is not).

I am in this internal debate, with a lot of frustration and don’t know what to do.

I would like to know your opinions on the matter, and If someone could correct me or enrich the information presented that would be amazing!

submitted by /u/Who_stolemycheese
[link] [comments]
Source: Reditt