Press "Enter" to skip to content

Kosher wine laws are weird?

So as I understand it, Kosher wine is made the same way as other wine, except with observant Jews conducting the entire process to ensure no mischievous individuals use the wine for a Pagan ritual, which would then be consumed by a Jewish person. Meshuval wine is boiled or pasteurized, so that after bottling gentiles can handle or pour it for Jews. The logic is that meshuval wine is gross so no idol worshipers would want it.

There used to be similar restrictions with bread and milk, which are still followed by some Orthodox Jews. I can understand wine needing to have kosher ingredients, some wine makers use gelatin as a fining. However, I have yet to meet any of these devious characters wantonly casting spells on people’s wine. Are kosher wine rules just a relic from the past?

submitted by /u/practicaI
[link] [comments]
Source: Reditt

%d bloggers like this: