Press "Enter" to skip to content

How do Jews view the "deuterocanonical books"?

The seven deuterocanonical books are: Tobit, Judith, Baruch, Sirach, 1 Maccabees, 2 Maccabees, and Wisdom.

All seven books appear in the Septuagint, but I have read that they are not apart of modern Jewish canon.

Have you ever heard of these books? Are they important at all in Judiasm?

P.S. “Deuterocanonical books” is the term Catholics use when talking about these books. I’m not sure what these specific seven books would be called in relation to Judiasm or if they would even have a special name.

submitted by /u/sadie11
[link] [comments]
Source: Reditt

%d bloggers like this: